2010 Stanley Cup Round 1

After a disappointing end to last years Finals, the Wings enter these playoffs with a different view than other years.  I don’t know if I’ve ever seen the Wings start Round 1 on the road since I started watching back in ’93(?).  An injury plagued year and a run from an out of the playoffs position were bookends on a very up and down season.  But they still reached 100 points.  The power play and penalty kill are much improved over last season and they enter as the hottest team since the Olympic break.

As the years have gone by, these picks have gotten more and more difficult.  The salary cap has forced the skill gap to close and it doesn’t seem like there’s any sure picks anymore.  As always, I throw out a disclaimer about my Eastern Conference picks as I pay little attention to suck unimportant things.  🙂

EASTERN CONFERENCE

#1 Washington Capitals vs. #8 Montreal Canadiens
The Caps put up a lot of points during the regular season.  Plus they have Ovechkin and probably should’ve have gone to the Finals last year.  I can’t even think of anybody who plays for Montreal.  Caps in 5.

#2 New Jersey Devils vs. #7 Philadelphia Flyers
It’s hard to go against Brodeur.  It’s easy to hate Pronger.  So I’ll continue with those thoughts.  Devils in 6.

#3 Buffalo Sabres vs. #6 Boston Bruins
Ryan Miller was amazing during the Olympics.  No reason he won’t elevate his game for the playoffs.  Sabres in 6

#4 Pittsburgh Penguins vs. #5 Ottawa Senators
Ottawa comes in hot and the Pens have been mediocre of late.  I don’t think I’ve heard their one Russian dude’s name all season.  Nothing will make me happier than for this one to come true   Sens in 7.  Of course, if you could guarantee me a Finals rematch, I’d take it.

WESTERN CONFERENCE

#1 San Jose Sharks vs. #8 Colorado Avalanche
All you’re going to hear how the Sharks turn into guppies come playoff time.  They’re still a good team.  The Avs are a young overachieving team that have been sinking like lead since around the 3/4 mark.  They’re lucky the season wasn’t 10 games longer.  Sharks in 5

#2 Chicago Blackhawks vs. #7 Nashville Predators
The Preds aren’t good enough to upset the Hawks.  Besides the Blackhawks are slated for a Conference Final rematch with the Wings.  Chicago in 5

#3 Vancouver Canucks vs. #6 Los Angeles Kings
This is the matchup I have the least feel for.  Vancouver has their own playoff demons that you’ll hear.  LA is a young team.  This could be the upset series.  It will go 7 and Vancouver will take it.

#4 Phoenix Coyotes vs. #5 Detroit Red Wings
I was informed today that a playoff omen from previous years happened today.  My little Red Wing player night lite bulb burnt out today.  This happened before last years playoffs and was never replaced and we see what happened.  I think it happened the year before in the Finals but we replaced it and things turned out well.  Perhaps one good thing is it foretells a visit to the Finals.  I’ve requested that a bulb is found tomorrow and replaced before 10pm.

What the heck?  Isn’t Pheonix mountain time?  Can’t we have 8 or 9pm starts?  Yes, you’ll hear me whining about the late starts all the playoffs.  It’s what I do.  I just can’t believe the GMs of the Wings, Preds, Blackhawks, and Blue Jackets haven’t tried to get some concession for all the travel they have to do to get earlier start times when playing out west.

I’m neither committed to the optimistic or pessimistic camp for this year’s playoff run.  It should be interesting.  If Howard can continue his amazing play and not suffer any rookie jitters, we should be in every game.  It would be nice for once for us to have the hot, stand on his head, rookie goaltender that causes our opponents to die in frustration.

Wings in 6

Tags:

Leave a Reply

