The Beers of PitCon '09

Had some good ones.

Warsteiner Premium Dunkel – I’ve mentioned this in passing before.  This is an excellent utility beer.  Goes good at any time.  Highest Darkside of the Moon, probably a Time or Money.

Bell’s Octoberfest – Last year this was growing on me.  This year I’m appreciating it more.  There’s still the occasional bottle that just doesn’t hit it, but overall this is pretty good.  Rank it as a high Darkside of the Moon.

Bell’s Oberon – What I would consider as probably the signature beer from Bell’s.  Even though it’s supposed to be a summer seasonal, it seems like I’ve found it available year round.  It’s good and from a mini keg it’s even better.  This would be probably a mid Darkside of the Moon.

Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA – This is such a _great_ beer.  This rivals my love for Bell’s HopSlam as my favorite all over beer.  The 60 minute version of this is a big step down with nothing special about it.  But the 90 minute is amazing.  I need to try the 120 minute version, but at $7.99 a bottle, I won’t make a habit of it.  I had the 120 on draft years ago, but that was before I became such a hop-head.  The 90 minute gets an Animals Sheep rating.

Widmer Bros Drifter Pale Ale – A delightful pale ale brought as a tribute to Pit Champion Zion’s Hope from the honorable Toolbox stable.  This was quite a treat that had a slight fruity surprise that I’ve not had in a pale ale.  I’d need to do some more research to be sure, but we’ll give this a preliminary rating of a low Darkside of the Moon.

Looking forward to having some more this weekend when #4 comes back for a second go of A Victory Denied.  Write up for that will follow before Friday.  Hopefully.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

