Wings closing remarks

It’s hard to be dissappointed in a team that gets within one game of their second straight Stanley Cup.  It’s a bummer, but it was quite a season.  I congratulated my Pittsburgh buddy immediately after game 7 was over and then went on self prescribed hockey exile for like 3-4 days.  After ending that, I checked out what was being said in the blogs.  And I’ve found that quite a lot of people are just idiots.

Osgood would have been the MVP had the Wings won.  So I find these Ozzie haters so far removed from reality that maybe they need to root for another team.  I honestly believe we wouldn’t have gotten as far as we did without him.  Most of the playoff games started with the Wings so sluggish that without him holding the fort, the game would’ve been out of reach in the first 10 minutes.

Then there’s the Hossa bashers.  Yeah, he dissappeared in the playoffs.  But I really take that as fluke rather than the norm.  He was a joy to watch this season and I hope they can resign him.

During the Anaheim Lame Ducks series, I had the thought that this was really the Finals.  I still believe that, but it turned out the Wings had too much taken out of them to continue all the way.

It’s depressing that the last 4 goals scored by the Penguins were the direct result of Detroit mistakes.  Stuart had his two worst games since I’ve seen him in a Detroit uniform.  (I’m not bashing, I like Stuart and still think he’s a heck of a player.)  We could’ve won both of the last two games 1-0 if the mantra would’ve been “safety first”.

This lost opportunity would be harder to get over if I didn’t know a Pens fan pretty well.  While I can’t really stand Crosby or Malkin, I could see the Penguins took advantage of the opportunities they were given.  I don’t think they outplayed Detroit, without the powerplay help the series would’ve been over in 4, I just think the Wings were out of gas and had trouble playing a dedicated 60 minutes.

So I finish these playoffs at 10-5.  The coming season should be interesting.  The young guys can’t be kept in the minors anymore, so there’s going to have to be some people let go.  I wouldn’t be surprised if 2-3 of the following are not resigned or released on waivers:Hudler, Samuelsson, Maltby, Draper.  I’d miss them all, but Helm, Eriksson, and Leino are ready.  I think Abdelkader could use one more season at Grand Rapids.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

