Roll for initiative

I remember watching my gamer buddies playing Dungeon Master at Moleman’s house on his old Atari ST (a wonderful little machine with a documented fix of dropping one of it’s corners 6 inches to reseat the RAM).  I was reminded of it by this little look back.  For some reason, I don’t think I ever played it, must have been content to just sit and watch.  I remember how I thought for a game of it’s ilk, the spellcasting was too complicated.  Having to remember what symbols to hit in what order, why would you want to fuss with such a mechanic.  However, in the spirit of a D&D spellcaster, it probably fit well.

While I never played Dungeon Master, I did play Eye of the Beholder, which for all intensive purposes was very similiar.  I can’t recall exactly what time of my life I played it, but I spent enough time with it that it became one of the two games I’ve actually beaten in my life.  (Bonus points if you can name the other.)

Thinking of all this made me remember that somewhere, I believe I have the set of three Eye of the Beholder titles.  I think this might be a game that the eldest girlywog might find interesting and maybe I could pick up the 2nd and continue my quest.  I remember enjoying the dungeon puzzles quite a bit.  They were always something like having to figure out a certain path or placing something on a number of pressure plates to open some door.  Fun stuff.

I’ve been enjoying more D&D memories lately listening to some 4th edition D&D game session podcasts with Penny Arcade.  You can find the feed here, but all I’ve listened to from the feed are the ones marked Penny Arcade.  There are two volumes.  The second includes Wil Wheaton.  I recommend them if you’re missing your old gang at all.  I don’t know how many times I’ve had uncontrolled giggles thinking how much I could see that kind of funny commenting going on in my old group.  You definately owe it to yourself to find out what all the hubbub is about Jim Darkmagic.

I’ve heard about 4th Edition D&D from a variety of my other podcasts.  From the way it sounds, Wizards of the Coast was trying to use the success of MMO’s to pull new players from that genre into the D&D role playing world.  Things are much more oriented on cool new abilities and wizbang combat skills.  Reflecting on the podcast, it does sound very Diablo-esque with characters having special powers that can be used once per day, some once per encounter, and at will.  Action points are gained every couple encounters that allow extra actions when used.  I never got beyond second edition, so adding video game mechanics to it seems awfully far out there.  Also seems like combat is now more important than actual role playing.

This has made me go through one of my cyclical periods of really missing the old gang and the gaming days.  I wish we were somehow still doing them, but without everyone the dynamic just didn’t seem to be there.  I’ve been really jonesin’ to drop by Mind Games and browse, but I shouldn’t take the chance of wasting money on more things that will never be used.

The Wings play their final regular season game tomorrow afternoon against the Blackhawks.  Even that makes me think of years back of watching a final regular season game against the Hawks at the Moleman’s house.  If your out there reading MM, hope everything is well.  This post is pretty much for you.

Happy Easter everybody!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Roll for initiative”

  1. gojim Says:

    I’ll take a guess and say that the other game that you defeated was “Rogue” (or possibly “UltraRogue”). Anyway, I had played D&D back in the day as well, but never got beyond the original AD&D series. Out of curiosity, however, I went and ahead and picked up the 4th Edition Core Rules and have been browsing through them the last day or two. I’m not sure that I’ll ever get a chance to play, but it might be fun to create a character for old time’s sake.

    I will say that the books are much easier to read that the 3.5 stuff (I picked up a starter kit for my son, just to see if I could get him interested in something other than sitting in front of the computer, sniping other kids), much easier on the eyes.

  2. FloydWing Says:

    I started out with the old red box D&D and then met up with some 1st Edition AD&D and progressed with them into 2nd Edition. Once they started throwing in all kinds of extra powers and such in 2.5 which I avoided, life interfered too much for us to continue playing.

    Not Rogue, I didn’t think those games ever actually ended.

  3. gojim Says:

    Rogue ended. You just had to get to the bottom of the dungeon. 🙂 I actually started with the red box D&D as well and “The Keep on the Borderlands”.

  4. FloydWing Says:

    Keep on the Borderlands sounds familiar. I was given a thick book that had a whole campaign that took place in the Grand Duchy of Karameikos. I remember the finale took place in the capital city and had a pretty cool chase through a marketplace mechanism. I DM’d Sixftunda and his brother through it. Good times!

    All because I saw the red box at the back of the first Dragonlance novel.

Comments are closed.


