V-day and code tinkering

The year has been flying past so far.  Here’s some catchup.

We had a very nice Valentine’s Day here.  The amazing wifal unit had a pretty cool gift awaiting me on the table when I woke up.  In one of those clear plastic box like thingies that roses come, were six(!) bottles of Bell’s Hopslam lying ever so gently on a bed of peanuts.  There were six there, but there was another six hidden in the garage.  What an amazing women!

We had some shopping to do that day and ate an early supper at Applebee’s.  The FloydWing’s don’t normally partake of dessert when eating out but we decided to splurge given the day.  We let the girlywogs get an ice cream float and we got this triple chocolate thing that came with ice cream on the side.  This thing was to die for!  It was a brownie-like piece of cake (I don’t normally care for brownies), covered in a chocolate sauce, that had some other kind of chocolate caramel sauce hidden inside it.  And it was warm.  If anyone was watching us eat this thing, they probably thought something was going on under the table.  It was so good!  I’d recommend you save room the next time you’re at Applebee’s.

I took President’s Day off since the girlywogs were off.  It was a pretty good day.  I got up at my normal work time to get some personal development time in.  I played around with the Spring Integration tutorial that talked about in an earlier post.  I’m still trying to figure out how the heck step 10 worked.  I made the Gateway interface, referenced it in the config.  There was no class that implemented the interface, but somehow it still worked.  Blows my mind.  I’m gonna need some additional exploration with that.  I’ve found another tutorial that I hope to go through soon.

I also started some work on an idea I’ve had for years.  I’ll devote a whole post to that someday.  Needless to say I used part of the Google Collections Library to make reading a file as simple as stepping through a list.  This article shows how to use the AbstractIterator from the library to wrap a Reader and step through a file line by line.  Some pretty cool stuff.

Tags: , , ,


