What's the probability you know the probability?

I remember taking a probability class in college.  I found it very interesting.  I wish I would have kept the book, but I think I sold it back for quick cash.  Here‘s an interesting little brain teaser for you.  I admit I got it wrong.  Probabilities are something you really need to take the time to think out in some cases.

Here‘s another interesting thing I happened upon today.  Just when you think there are no good useful ideas left to be created on the web, here’s a great example of something useful.  It’s gives me hope that maybe I still have time to be hit by a good idea.  Sure you could manually do the same thing with Google Maps, but they piece everything together in one package.  I could see myself using this to find a golf course between here, Sixftunda, and L-town for a golf scramble with him, Poobah, and brother of Six.

I heard about this on a DotNetRocks podcast.  It was at CodeMash and Carl and Richard interviewed Joe Fiorini and company about a 48hr Ruby programming contest that their site won.  (.Net?  Yep, I subscribe to the CodeMash philosophy of finding something useful across the language divides.  While there’s a lot of episodes that don’t give me much, there’s enough programming and design philosophy discussions to usually maintain my interest.)

I actually met Joe at the 2008 CodeMash though I doubt he’d remember me.  He and Kevin Fonner spent some time at the bar that first night, wagering for my soul as they tried to convince me which dynamic language I should learn.  Joe was for Ruby, Kevin for Python.  Took me a while to get to it, but I’m finally getting around to tinkering with one, though it’s Groovy.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to make it back to the mash next year.

Is it just me, or does it seem like there are a ton of people from the Cleveland area doing cool tech stuff these days?

Tags: ,


