2009 Goals: Personal

I don’t normally bother with the resolution crap (since I’m not really one to keep such things anyways), but it tis the time of year where it’s all the rage.  These aren’t so much resolutions as they are just goals I’d love to achieve in the coming 11+ months.

These are my goals of the personal variety.

  1. Continue to introduce the girlywogs to new experiences
    This one will be an easy one to keep since the wifal unit already has us following this mantra.  We’ll continue to take advantage of the zoo, art museum, sport teams, and events as much as we can without overdoing it.
  2.  Actually take a family vacation this year
    This will depend on how fast I waste my vacation before the summer, the economy, and any unplanned as well as planned expenses.  We’ve not ever really had a full blown vacation.  I’d love to go somewhere relaxing and interesting for like 4-5 nights.  We’ll see.
  3. Lose some weight
    I think ideally, losing like 30 pounds would put me where I should be.  This is the most likely goal to fall by the wayside.  I’ve never been one for exercise and I really don’t know how I’d fit it in.  The only times I’ve lost weight was when I stopped drinking Mountain Dew (20 lbs) and playing lunchtime bball at the University.  I’m gonna have to get back into a disciplined eating and snacking routine for this one to have any chance.
  4. Get the basement cleaned
    Not only would this enable us to have more lounging space and have a nice place for the gaming systems, it would also make it easier for me to have some wargames set up.  Not to mention the good feeling having an organized basement can give you.
  5. More quality family time at home
    This will involve finding ways to better keep up with all the home maintenance and upkeep in a more efficient manner as well as the weekly errands.  Yes we spend a lot of time together today, but more wouldn’t hurt.
  6. Read at least 4 books (at least one of which is non-fiction)
    This shouldn’t be a problem as I’ve actually been more actively reading the past year or two.  We’re even going to the public library now.  I’ve got two non-fictions waiting for me now.  Though I think a biography might be in order.
  7. Listen to more music
    I used to have a voracious appetite for music and would buy far too many CDs.  Podcasts have slowly displaced the time I used to use for music listening and now I listen to very little.
  8. Write more
    I’ve always wanted to write that great American novel.  While I don’t see that happening, I still enjoy when I write something here and the words flow out easily.  I’d love to take part in Nanowrimo someday but don’t see that soon.  Ideally I’d satisfy this one by writing a short story or two, but I’ve got no ideas.  So, I’ll try to not go longer than a week without a blog post.  I just passed the four year anniversary of this blog on January 1st and those of you who’ve followed me for part of that know that I’m either hot or cold.  Very seldom in between.  So I’ll try to keep those empty lapses shorter.
Tags: ,

2 Responses to “2009 Goals: Personal”

  1. James Morman Says:

    Evidently Resolution Number 9 should be “Improve My Memory”. You already penned the Great American Novel. With me in the fifth grade.

    The Missile Threat was a critically acclaimed novel. Sister Mary Magdaleva gave it five stars and said, “It’s the second greatest literary treasure, next to the Bible.”
    It is of course locked away in a vault until the opening of the Morman Wing of the Funeral Service Museum.

  2. FloydWing Says:

    Ah, that’s right, forgot about that. Where’s my royalty checks?
    Actually, I believe it currently resides in one of my bookcases, waiting for us to get together someday. I think I gave a copy to my eldest to read, but I don’t think she read it yet.

Comments are closed.


