All Jacked Up

I had bought the Jaw-Jacker Ale from Arcadia Brewing Company back on the weekend when I missed the Octobeerfest.  I thought I’d have my own tastings of a variety of brews.  It didn’t work out that way and I had brews in the fridge for quite a while.  I bought it thinking it was a pumpkin ale.  Now I’m one that doesn’t get into the fruit and other girly crap some breweries throw in their brews, but after having an amazingly tasty Pumpkin Ale that tasted like Thanksgiving pumpkin pie at the 2007 Octobeerfest (which I discovered I never blogged about), and a tasty blueberry ale I had in South Haven, MI, I’m more up to try such things.  Turns out this wasn’t really a pumpkin ale.

Arcadia Brewing Company is out of Battle Creek, Michigan, so it continues my kick of Michigan breweries.

First off, I love the label.  It’s got a scarecrow with a pumpkin head.  The head is looking to the side with a big mouth full of shark type teeth.  A fogginess looks to be coming out of the mouth.  It describes itself as an ale with spices added (Cinnamon, Allspice, and Nutmeg).  Yeah, I didn’t read the label when I bought it.  Never got by the picture.

The beer has a brownish-red color when held up to light.  It has very little head on the pour, bubbling away quickly.  My handicapped snout found it to smell of nutmeg.  It has a wonderful spicy flavor that gives a nice little extra taste on both sides of the back of the tongue.

To me, this is a cheaper, local version of La Chouffe.  But I must say that it makes a very nice substitute for it and is made right here in the US, Michigan specifically.  One thing I did happen upon, after getting sidetracked after pouring a glass, is that it gets better as you let it get a little warmer.  This is a big plus in my book, as most of the mass produced dross becomes nearly undrinkable if not at fridge temp.

I’m ranking this in the middle area of Darkside of the Moon.  I will definitely buy this again if it’s still available and try other Arcadia beers.

Tags: , , ,


