W

Today’s quote: I bet one of the biggest dreams for a hair stylist would be for them to be able to work on their own hair from above or behind.

Well, I banked my first ever win as a coach over the weekend, an 8-1 affair that was quite enjoyable to coach.  I actually had made a rotation for who would play where in what quarter.   But that got thrown out the window when the other team didn’t have enough players.  So we played with 5 plus the goalie so I was back to doing the lines on the fly.  It didn’t go too bad.  I felt like I got to pay a little more attention, though that could be that I’m just coming up with the changes quicker.  We switched from an attack formation relatively early on, not wanting to pile in too many goals.  But it seemed like whoever we had out there, the kids were just on fire.

I got some nice compliments from a parent after the game about how this season and last have been so different for her daughter.  She’s much more involved and excited.  I love all the kids and it’s great to hear that maybe I am making a difference.  I don’t feel like I’m really able to teach them much, but at least their enjoying themselves and the game of soccer.

I do have one problem boy who is constantly running his mouth, telling people they suck at things and to shut up.  I’ve discussed his attitude with him before but it’s not seemed to have any effect.  Then I come to find out that during the game he kept saying things about how bad the other team was and that we had the game in the bag.  Things that you just say during a game like that or any time.  So next practice, we’re going to have a discussion with the team about showing class and professionalism to the other team and your own.  I doubt it’s really going to sink in for this kid though.  Most of the problems we have in practice are a result of his mouth or actions also.

I’ve threatened that he won’t be playing if his rudeness continues, but I don’t know if I have it in me to actually bench someone.

Tags: ,


