Quotes of the day

“The worst darkness is that which is cloaked in light.”

That was mine.  Here’s one I just heard this morning watching the World Series of Poker by Phil Laak.  I’m sure he didn’t originate it, but I like it.

“I was brought into this world without my consent, I will leave this world against my will.”

I’m trying to think how I can use these in my soccer team pep talk this morning, but just can’t think how I could fit it in.  🙂

I’ve been reading the base OCS rules, 10 minutes here and there over the last couple days.  I’m not that far but they seem to mention a lot of things that I haven’t even gotten to yet.  Just a bit confusing (as my mind will probably not remember the connection when I get to those other sections), but I’m going to stick with it.  As I’ve seen elsewhere on the net, OCS is like an elephant that needs chewed one piece at a time.

Anybody have any opinions on home security systems?  We’ve signed up for an ADT system, but have some days to back out if we want.  We had some bad experiences with ADT telemarketers during the setup of utilities and our first month of living here, but the consultant we talked with helped smooth that over.  I still have mixed feelings.  Not ever having a security system in the past, part of me feels like we don’t need one.  But living near a bigger city (a crappy one at that), and seeing some of the things that goes on there, I would hate myself if something ever happened to my family and I hadn’t taken steps to protect them.  Give me some opinions to help allay my inner turmoil.

Gotta go head to the game.  Maybe talk at ya later.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Quotes of the day”

  1. Shindo Says:

    The woman that sits in the cube next to me had ADT. She had a house fire and her house was basically destroyed. ADT called her a WEEK later to say that there seemed to be a problem with her system!!! She had the fire protection part of the ADT plan, they never even detected it. 😦 I’d stay away from them.

    We use Monitronics now. Completely wireless system – the base unit actually uses cell tech to phone home and has a battery backup, so even with the power out and phone line cut the thing is still active and working. I can’t really say what their customer service is like, however, as I’ve never had to deal with them

    The OCS stuff is not hard to get through if you can make time to read it through in one sitting. Taking the rules in chunks like that makes it much more difficult to learn (I tried the same thing initially). I eventually just sat and read the whole thing once through and felt a lot better about it (took about 2.5 hours or so).

  2. FloydWing Says:

    Hmm. I can’t recall the last time I spent an hour reading something, don’t know if I could even find 2.5 hours of uninterrupted time. I was figuring on doing my normal, read through once when I can, read through again when I can to connect all the displaced dots.

    I’m committed now though. More on that in a future post…

    Thanks for the security system input.

  3. Shindo Says:

    “I€™m committed now though. More on that in a future post€¦”

    Hmmmm, sounds like a purchase may have been made!!! 🙂

Comments are closed.


