Bell's Beer Ballet

Been enjoying my duet of Bell’s Two Hearted Ale and Bell’s Octoberfest.  May need to venture out in the cold Michigan weather and get something new this weekend.  The Octoberfest has grown on me.  It’s got a mysterious combination of heavy malt followed by a hidden hop afterthought.  It’s the type of mystery that makes you want to have another sip to try to solve.  🙂

The Two Hearted Ale is wonderful.  Ranks very high on my favorite IPA list.

One of these days I need to actual compile this hard list of beers.  I find myself talking about my Top 10 Beers, Top 10 IPA’s, and Top 10 Porters but I couldn’t really name many more than the top couple in the specialized categories.  I shall need to come up with a rating system to begin rating the beers I try and keeping track of my top rated.

I think with the recent passing of Rick Wright (and the name of this site) I should come up with a rating system somehow related to Pink Floyd.  Maybe I could throw in a little Red Wing relation also.  Like a stout could be described like “knocked me over like a Bob Probert check”.  Or for the Floyd reference for a beer that I would never drink again something like “this beer is like The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking, not worth partaking of again.”

If anybody has any ideas, let me know.

Everybody is so down on the Buckeyes.  Yeah, I was pretty disgusted with their play also and really hadn’t expected that great a game, but come on.  A recent National Championship and being the second best team in the nation for two consecutive years is something that’s not that easy to do.  We should be proud and look forward to the Big 10 games that really matter.

Unfortunately, I’ll be missing the Mad Anthony Octobeerfest for the first time in 3 years this Saturday.  I will be very sad that I won’t be able to post my normal thoughts about the celebrity people watching and otherwise fun time.  There’s just been too much going on and too much work left to do.  My main hope for the rest of the year is that I’ll be able to have at least one gaming weekend with Nephew #2 and #4.

I’m ready to give a rules review of Storm Over Stalingrad.  Overall I think it’s going to be a good game, but I’ll try to get into that this weekend.

My new favorite place (beating BW3’s and Legends) is Nick and Jimmy’s.  The chunks are as good as Legends and the beer on tap is beyond BW3’s (fresh Guinness plus Bell’s Oberon on tap).  I really like the Crawfish Po’Boy also.  Yum, yum.

Tags: , , , , ,


