Spring Training, Fall Style

Well, my coaching career began tonight as the Lt. Blue team hit the field to get to know one another and start learning some skills.  One thing we found out:  Our coach (me) hasn’t a clue.  I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me.  The kids are great.  We’ve got a really good mix and some really good players.  The problem is me.

  • I need to get more vocal, maintain control, let the kids know what I want them to do.  My shy, quiet demeanor doesn’t work very well.
  • I need to learn their names.  This should be very difficult.  I’ve had brain farts and forgotten people’s names that I’ve known for a lifetime.  I forget someone’s name 5 seconds after I’m introduced.  Now I have 11 new kids that I need to learn.  I hate saying “Hey you”, so I’ve got to get this one figured out.
  • I need to come up with some good practice ideas to teach them more about soccer, get them ready for our games, and give me an idea of who would be good playing where and with who.

So if anybody has any advice on how I can overcome my shortcomings or of good soccer practice ideas, please throw me a flotation device.  I’ve got two days to come up with a practice regime.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Spring Training, Fall Style”

  1. Nick Says:

    Set up a row cones and have them dribble through a couple times. Easy enough and good ball control work. 3 offenders v 2 defenders + goalie going to the goal is another good one and is fast n easy.

Comments are closed.


