Libation News

I haven’t gone hog wild with the newly found access to the ability to purchase micro-brew beers as you might have thought.  Heck, I haven’t even made a stop at the Maumee Bay Brewing Company since I’ve moved up here.  Though I need to rectify that.

However, I do have a nirvana of access nearby at Flick’s.  This is a nice specialty food, beer, and wine store.   I made my first beer purchase this weekend and it’s something special.  I have a six of Bell’s Octoberfest in my possession.  This stuff is so rare that the distributor is only allowed to sell 3 cases per location.  After being informed of this, I mentioned to the checkout, “Well, then, hopefully I don’t like it.”  We knowingly smiled at each other.  Of course I would.  🙂

I’ve been a fan of Bell’s beers since I started traveling for business years ago up in the St. Joseph area.  At least in the lower 1/3 of Michigan, they’re pretty popular.  I haven’t had a lot of their brands, but the Oberon is indeed a tasty wheat (it’s on my top 10 beer list).  I’ve only had one Octoberfest so far (I plan to have the second tonight) so I don’t want to make any judgement yet.  Octoberfests are a special beer (unfinished).  Like most beers, I prefer draft to bottled, but I think this is more true with Octoberfests.  We’ll see.

We’ve live up here going on a month and half and I thought I should catch you up on what I’ve been drinking.

  • Recently finished up on Long Hammer IPA from Redhook Brewery.  I love IPA’s but this just didn’t do it for me.  I couldn’t pin down the problem.  It was quite hoppy, but not more than others I’ve had.  Wouldn’t turn it down, but would probably try something else if available.
  • Warsteiner Lager – I fell in love with the Dunkel about 4-5 years ago in Columbus and this doesn’t disappoint either.  Nothing exceptional, mind you, but better than domestic crap.
  • Tap Room No. 21 Moe’s Backroom Lager – Online I can only find that this is brewed by City Brewery but they make no mention of what they actually brew.  It was standard fare, nothing special, but of course better than nothing.  This was the second Tap Room beer I tried.
  • And here’s the first.  Tap Room No. 21 Moe’s Backroom Pale Ale – I really enjoyed this.  This was like the first or second beer I got after the move.  It was very yummy.  So yummy in fact that I have the final bottle still in the fridge, waiting for me to be inspired to drink it.  This is definitely in the top 10 for Pale Ales.

I think that’s it.  A pretty modest list, but I’m finding having a nice tasty beer every once in a while is so satisfying.

On an extremely sad note: I won’t be attending Mad Anthony’s Octobeerfest this year.  Unfortunately there’s just too much going on.

Tags:


