Here I go again

It seems like all I do is complain anymore.  But I got set off this morning and it’s another one of those things that I need to get off my chest.  This blog is going in many different directions of late.  Hopefully, I can restrain myself enough to stay out of politics.

One of the tenets (at least from what I remember) in the religion I was brought up in is that you shouldn’t be judgmental.  Only God is supposed to be pure and wise enough to be able to be the arbiter of judgment.  It’s basically the “judge not, lest ye be judged” and “let he who is without sin cast the first stone” ideas.

It just cracks me up though that it seems like in the majority of the congregation that’s all they do.  This is probably more rampant in the older parts of the community.  This paragraph probably seems a little judgmental, though it’s just observations, I’m not really saying they’re going to hell because of it.  Of course, maybe it follows the “judge not lest ye be judged”.  🙂

For you church goers in the audience tonight, how often have you noticed another member craning their neck looking all around.  Sure, for some it’s just boredom and killing time, but for some it’s doing their little mental checklist of whose missing.  Then they can go gossip about it with the other neck-craners.

I’m not the regular church goer that my family raised me to be.  It’s not a failure on their part, they did their best and passed on their ideals and beliefs to me.  Most of them I still hold, I question some, and some I don’t hold sacred.  I’m an individual and feel that that’s between myself, my immediate family, and God.

But when someone asks me why I don’t go to church anymore, it just steams me.  It’s really none of their business.  Now the person that has been asking me means well.  They subscribe to the strict old belief system of the way things need to be done.  I don’t.

To me it comes down to which is more important: being a good person or going to church.  To me, going to church does not make you a good person.  It’s also not mutually exclusive.  I always think of that little boy growing up in the jungle ago whose never even heard of my religion or has been brought up under a different one.  Whatever belief system his society came up with, as long as he’s a good person and tries to act accordingly toward others, shouldn’t that be what counts?  Should he go to hell just because he grew up in the wrong place?

I don’t speak for the rest of my immediate family here.  I respect and support their beliefs and they do the same for mine.  That’s what’s important.  Some day I may find my way back to being a regular goer.  But I think it won’t be until I find an environment where I feel comfortably unjudged.  I don’t think that environment exists in my current little corner of the world.  People don’t have that much to talk about around here.

Heck, half the time thinking about this stuff, I feel like a hypocrite myself.  I’m just the way I am and wish people would mind their own business.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Here I go again”

  1. Go Guy Says:

    As an atheist I don’t asked those types of questions. 🙂

  2. FloydWing Says:

    I fear that avenue might make it worse. 🙂

Comments are closed.


