The Part Time Developer 1: Explanation

I apologize for the incoherence of my last post. I should no better than write one when there’s no one home.

I seem to be recovered now, so we’ll try not to ramble and be so boring from now on. Holy crap has it been cold! I’ve seen dollar bills sneaking through the cracks.

So I’ve been a bit preoccupied of late. My professional direction has been turning on a dime a bit lately. I had started to tinker around with VB.net, just to learn about what was different from the old VB6. I find it’s very easy to figure out and isn’t all that much of a jump from VB6. It also follows the .Net paradigm, so it’s pretty easy to go into from the C# side of the house also. I didn’t really find that it really gave me anything, or taught me anything that helps me grow as a developer. Now the disclaimer here is my observations are only based on a couple weeks of playing with it, but I feel that if needed I could do some relatively productive work in VB.net. The good is that it still allows you to put things together quickly which would be good for prototyping or simple projects. The bad for me was it’s so damn verbose. Defining a function or an object just seems like I’m typing so much. The function declarations are good in that they pretty much explicitly tell you what it overrides and things like that, but I guess it just seems like a lot of extra typing. I really think that’s good though. It’s so easy for future programmers looking at code to misinterpret it’s intent, so any extra help like that I give kudos to. For me though, coming from C++/Java/C# it seemed like I was slowed down having to make sure I had everything right. Don’t take this a bashing VB.net. I think it’s a good language, not my first choice, but I’d use it if I felt it was the best tool for the job.

So last Wednesday night I had a conversation with one my mentors that has helped mold me in my professional career.  He was telling me about a possible future opportunity and the technologies that would be involved.  A lot of them were ones that I had used in the past and was somewhat still familiar with, though definitely in need of a refresher.  So the new plan is to drop all the other hobbies that take so much of my time and reacquaint myself with these cool things.  Then hopefully, down the road I will have the opportunity to have a technical interview and get the chance to be a part of the opportunity.  It’s very exciting and also quite scary at the same time.

So the plan now is to make myself accountable to this blog that I’m staying focused and actually doing something.  I’m going to be using this “Part Time Developer” series of posts to chronicle what I’ve been looking into or planning to look into, problems I’ve run into, or really cool stuff that I’ve come across.  I’ll try to post something to this series at least once a week so you know that I’m still sticking with it.  That’s where I’m also asking you to help me remain accountable.  If you don’t see something for a while, please post a comment or send me an email calling me out to get my butt back in gear.  The way life is and just the way that I’m am, I’m sure things will pop up to divert me from this, but I’d really like to stick with this.  I’ve probably got a few months that I’ll be able to cram things in my head, so it’s important to stay focused.

I wanted to come up with a catchy name for this series, but all the cool ones were already taken in blogs.  For instance, I really liked The Shade Tree Developer, but then I realized I was already reading a blog called that.  So I dug deep for a name with meaning.  I haven’t really felt that I’ve been a full time developer since my first job out of college.  My second job was pretty much pure maintenance coding.  I didn’t really feel like I was developing anything really creative or new.  There were the few little projects here or there, but it was and would have always been maintenance in an ancient programming language.  In my current position, I’m pretty much the “Pointy Haired Manager” who is slowly losing touch with reality.  I was pitched to that I would have ample development opportunities in the newer things that I was interested in, but in reality, most of my time is tied into the management crap and another old system with ancient technologies.  Once again, a Part Time Developer at best.

So there you have it.  Hopefully, someday I’ll be able to start a series of posts called the Full Time Developer.  But until that time, it’s nose to the grind stone to continue to improve my skills and knowledge base on my own time.  I need to put out another post detailing what I’ve been working on since last Wednesday fateful conversation, but I think I’ve wasted enough time writing this up.  I also still want to post at least one unrelated post each week.  I’ve tried of late to use Six’s advice and go with smaller posts, but part of my soul is a writer, so it’s hard to just post little tidbits that I find interesting, other than just showing a link to some other blog that I’ve found interesting.

Well, that’s it.  I’m outta here.  One final note: let’s remember what today is.  It’s still amazing how many people are still annoying bigots and racists.

Tags:

2 Responses to “The Part Time Developer 1: Explanation”

  1. James A. Morman Says:

    …but part of my soul is a writer,……

    WOH, it’s a good thing you have a blog, I have known you since 3rd grade and never knew you had one of those.

  2. FloydWing Says:

    3rd grade? That’s when we banded together? What the heck did I do in the 1st and 2nd grade? I’ve been planning to post about my first recollection of you, but I couldn’t figure out what grade it was in. Must have been 3rd.

    Oh, my soul is there but a bit blackened. Stay tuned and I may reveal that yes, I do have a heart. I just have to figure out how to prove it. 🙂

Comments are closed.


