Welcome to 2008

So the FloydWings spent New Year’s Eve at home for the second year in a row.  This following maybe two years previously where we went to some acquaintances houses.  The wif-al unit and I have decreed that this shall be what we do from now on.  These last two years have been a blast for us and the girlywogs.  We played games all night in front of the fireplace until the countdown came on.  The girlywogs loved it.  The youngest was able to stay awake though she was getting moody by 11:40pm.  I remember one of the years before those couple years where we were invited somewhere, we all ended up outside on the porch with sparklers.  I hope these are memories that the girlywogs look back on when they are my age.

New Year’s Eve has changed for me quite a bit since the late days of high school.  Back then the important things were finding where the big party was and where we were going to be getting our beverages from.  Now it’s spending time with the those most important to me.  Good heavens, I’m sounding mature.  Frightening indeed.

The eldest girlywog is just like me when I was young.  All last night she was going around saying how “This is the last time I’ll do this in 2007.”  Then after midnight and into today it’s “This is the first time I’ve done this in 2008.”  So funny.

Tomorrow, it’s back to the grind.

