Christmas at The Floydwings

I’m miles from where you are,
I lay down on the cold ground
I, I pray that something picks me up
And sets me down in your warm arms
Set the Fire to the Third Bar – Snow Patrol


Christmas at the Floydwings is always a special treat for me. Over the past few years, I’ve actually been able to celebrate with just the wif-al unit and the girlywogs, for the most point. We no longer have the million places to run that slowly sucks the joy out of this special time of year. Though we still always end up with a few visitors.The day always starts off with the girlywogs making their way downstairs sometime between 7am and 8:30am. Amazingly, we didn’t hear hardly a sound until around 8:30am. Somehow we’ve raised these girlywogs to be very considerate little ‘wogs. Usually, we get such a kick hearing all the excited whispering about the new gifts that have appeared under the tree, both from us and from Santa. And then there’s always the talk about the remnants of Ho-Ho wrappers and milk that we always leave out for the big man. The ‘wogs were hoping for a couple footprints from Rudolph but Santa Claus left a note that he was short on time but appreciated the Ho-Ho’s. A man after my own heart.

The girlywogs patiently waited while the wifal unit and I got the coffee going, the sleep out of our eyes, and the normal morning activities that make us think we’re actually alive.  Then we dug in.  The ‘wogs had a pretty good Christmas, I think.  At least, they spent the whole day engrossed in their new stuff, so by that, I judge it that they were happy.  But as my littlest gem so rightfully (and cutefully) reminds us, “Christmas is the birth of baby Jesus”, so we try to keep things in perspective.

We had some festive red and green soup for lunch and a nice hearty meal for supper.  A day of good eats.  Our family loves the English stuff, so we’ve instituted a few English traditions into our own with a few twists.  For both meals, each of us had our very own Christmas Cracker and after lunch we threw a Yule Log onto the fire after each making a wish for the coming year.  Throw in some Karaoke with one of the girlywogs earlier presents and it was as near the perfect Christmas as I could hope for.  Maybe a chocolate milkshake would have made it completely perfect.  🙂

The fun’s not over yet though for these holidays.  Tomorrow we get to celebrate Boxing Day by watching Liverpool and Chelsea back to back starting at 8am.  And then from there we head into what is being billed as the Boardgaming Championship when nephew #4 and I kick off A Victory Lost.  Maybe I’ll get a preview in tomorrow, but probably not.  Chow!

Tags:


