Nothing to say

There are no flowers, no not this time,
There’ll be no angels gracing the lines,
Just these stark words, I find.
I’d show a smile, but i’m too weak,
I’d share with you could I only speak,
Just how much this, hurts me.

Just how much this, hurts me.

Just how much you…

AFI


I hate it when I finally sit down to apply fingers to keyboard and spew words into a post and I’ve totally forgotten all the good ideas I had to tell you about. I know for a fact that there was something floating around in my head on Monday. It’s gone. Same thing with every other day this week. This week was really crazy and hectic at work. By the time I got home, the last thing I wanted to do was grab my laptop. (Such a beautiful laptop it is though. 🙂 )

Yeah, I’ve pretty much begun consolidating my life to my work laptop. Much more convenient to have everything in one place. Windows development and Pit upkeep will still need to be done elsewhere for the time being, but I should look into that vmWare idea. One problem is keeping work stuff separate from personal stuff. Thunderbird keeps all my accounts separate. I think my main problem is coming up with a plan for my internet bookmarks. I started using Foxmarks to keep them in sync on my Windows PCs. I’m sure I could put that on my Mac Firefox, but then I’ll have all my personal bookmarks mixed with my work ones. Maybe it’s as simple as just creating two top level folders, work and home. Anybody have any scheme they use?

Today continues our series on my job happenings from a year ago. I believe a year ago today I was offered the position I had interviewed for. It seemed like exactly what I wanted, a chance to learn and use current technologies newer than the 1970’s vintage Fortran code I was stuck in. Unfortunately, after some soul searching, a visit to an advisor, and extreme disappointment I had to turn it down. It just wouldn’t work. After some email correspondence the next week, I found out another position would be offered, this time a manager position. So I started looking for that to appear in the paper. Thus ends this week’s documenting of the trials and tribulations of last year’s job search.

I’m in the process of swapping in a new hard drive for some acquaintances. I discovered theirs crashed and picked up a new one for them at Best Buy. I was hoping to get them something small and cheap. The one that crashed was a 40GB. The smallest and cheapest I could find was a 160GB for $60. Definitely overkill for using email and surfing the internet (which is what they use the PC for) but what am I to do. I wanted to get it up and running for them and didn’t want to hunt around the internet. Wish I could swap one of mine for it.

Anyway, reinstalling Windows SUCKS! This was a Windows XP pre service pack install disk. So actually getting it installed is only like a quarter of the battle. I’ve been off and on, doing Windows updates and service packs all day. I wish you could set an option on windows update to totally update to all the latest security updates and everything without asking questions for everything. And just auto reboot and go right back to installing. Finally once I’m through all that, I get to try to install all the previous programs. Still though, at the end of it all, there’s that feeling of accomplishment when you’ve brought a dead system back to life and the smile on the owners’ faces that they didn’t have to go deal with some high school geek at computer shop of choice.

The wifal-unit’s birthday is on Monday. She really hates the whole getting older thing. I find it very amusing and tease her incessantly about it. I got her a couple CDs so she at least has a few surprises. She has some other things she wants to get, which has become the norm for our birthdays, pick out what you want. One of the CDs is the first Arctic Monkeys CD. If you haven’t checked this British band out yet, do yourself a favor and check them out on http://www.arcticmonkeys.com or YouTube. I usually try to resist groups she finds, but I’m really starting to like them. She’s been listening to them probably like 3 months now. I’m surprised they aren’t more visible in the US.

I’m really getting stoked. I’ll be taking some vacation very shortly from work. This will be one of the rare times that I’m actually taking at least a full week. Most of the time in the past, I’d nickel and dime my vaca away. I’m looking for a relaxing and productive 12 days at home in a row. By productive, not only do I mean actually getting to some of the things around the house that I’ve put off, but getting into some programming projects, sitting butt in chair and working on that “Great American Novel” that’s been in my head forever, etc. The personal development type stuff. I know I’m setting myself up for failure. I usually have such grand plans for when I have time off and then when the last day comes and I wonder where all the time went. I’m such a wasteful slacker. 🙂 We’ve also got a little mini-vacation planned which I hope will include some pool lounging.

Pretty amazing, taint it? I started with nothing to say and now it’s the end.

