Working for the Weekend

The biggest news of the week, that I just found out about, is that my good friend now has a blog. Check it out here. He either insulted me in the forum about how boring this blog is, or he said he was going to be more boring than me. Either way, I will strive to raise this to new heights boredom.

Ye old Pit is starting to come into line for season 6. I actually did a lot of work for it on Sunday. And it felt good. I doubt this will mean a resurgence of Pit program development.

I’m watching last night’s WSOP Main Event. The current chip leader, Jamie Gold, started out being all right, but lately he has just become plain annoying with his table chat. I’m so hoping someone will put him in his place and really dent his stack. He’s playing big stack poker well, but asking people “why they called him with what they had” get’s real old after a while. But then seeing the segment on his dad makes it hard to root against him. He’s still an annoying jerk to me though.

Looking forward to this weekend, the wife-al unit and I will be celebrating our 11th anniversary. We were planning on hitting a microbrew festival again this year, but unfortunately some prescription meds have nixed that plan. Still looking forward to a wonderful weekend, but if anybody wants to buy a couple beerfest tickets for this Saturday in Fort Wayne, let me know.

I used some of my birthday money to order The Mighty Endeavor last night. I’ve been pained over ordering an SCS game or OCS game. I finally decided on the SCS just because of how few rules there are compared to OCS. Not that a rules intensive game scares me, I played ASL for goodness sake. It’s just that with all these game rules that float around in my head, I think maybe I’d actually get a wargame to the table with a simplistic set of rules. Maybe it won’t be meaty enough for me, but we’ll see.

2 Responses to “Working for the Weekend”

  1. Go Guy Jim Says:

    Good call on The Mighty Endeavor, my buds at BGG rate it quite nicely!! Just finished a game of ‘Twilight Struggle’ this evening which is one of the newer ones that I picked up. Good game!

    Congrats on 11 years (we had our 14th last month).

  2. FloydWing Says:

    Yeah, TME seems like it would be a quickie to teach to anybody who’s played wargames also, so maybe I’ll have to get a game of it in with you and Nick sometime. I was wondering about Twilight Struggle. Heard a ton of good stuff about it.

    Congrats on your anniversary too.

Comments are closed.


