Vacation TODO #1

One of the things I like to do over my Christmas vacation is read a book. Before the girlywogs arrived, I devoured books, starting a new one as soon as I finished the old one. Nowadays, I can count the number of books I read a year on less than two figures. The sporadic reading that I do get a chance for is made up of technical geek manuals and computer or warfare magazines. Having never read any of the Lord of the Rings books (an amazing feat considering I played AD&D in my younger days), I read The Hobbit last Christmas vacation. I had started Fellowship of the Ring right after but it soon died out once I was back at work.

So I started thinking that I should get a new book lined up for this season. I thought I’d use this space to make note of some of my ideas and see if anybody has any thoughts out there for me.

Option 1:   Fellowship of the Ring.
      Point Against   I’ve seen the movies. Is it really worth reading the books?

Option 2:   To Green Angel Tower
      Point for   I actually read the first two books in this trilogy, The Dragonbone Chair and Stone of Farewell
      Point against   This 3rd book is actually two paperbacks which are each bigger than the first two books in the series. That would be quite a commitment over thirteen days, considering all the other plans I’ll come up with. Also, it’s probably been like ten years since I read the other two. I think they give a review synopsis of what happened up to that point, but whether I could catch up with it I don’t know. Any feedback on whether you think it’s worth me ever finishing this series up would be greatly appreciated.

Option 3:   A Game of Thrones
      Points for   It was a book of the year and I have it.
      Points Against   It’s big and a four book series.

Option 4:   Ender’s Game
      Points for   I’ve heard a lot of good things about it
      Points against   I don’t currently own it.

Option 4: Something else suggested by you or found by me

So help me out with your suggestions. This will be the first on my list of todos over vacation.

2 Responses to “Vacation TODO #1”

  1. Nick Says:

    Have you ever heard of Stephen Ambrose? He is my favorite author. His books are non-fiction WWII based. He interviews hundreds of veterans and gets all kinds of crazy stories and weird scenarios that they have told him. Its not just that though, he goes in depth into the minds of generals, tactics, and the overall life during WWII. Some books include “D-Day”, “Citizen Soldiers”, “The Victors”, and a book about Eisenhower which i haven’t read yet. I have his books too so I could lend them to you if your interested. I have a bunch of other civil war/wwii books too…….

  2. FloydWing Says:

    They sound interesting. I just don’t know whether I’m in a non-fiction reading mood. I don’t know.

    Another option I forgot to mention was reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. We had been reading it, but didn’t stay with it before the movie came out. I saw the movie but know that a lot was cut out. I was disappointed that we didn’t get it read.

Comments are closed.


