War of the Words

Despite how annoying I think Tom Cruise has become, the wife-al unit and I went and saw War of the Worlds yesterday. Perhaps I made a mistake in not going to Batman Begins instead, but we thought WotW would probably be a better special effects movie to see on the big screen.

Special effects wise it was pretty good. Overall, I’d say it was okay. At least they didn’t change the ending so that Cruise somehow saved the day. I’ve never read the book but have seen the earlier movie and the Orson Wells broadcast. I think I probably still like the earlier movie better. They did do a good job of evoking a lot of emotions of great peril and fear. I don’t think I’ll be letting the kidlings see this one until their in high school.

A few things I didn’t like:
When the aliens first arrive Cruise spends quite a long time away from his children observing the events unfolding. Now this could have been to underscore the fact that as a good father, his character came up short. But as a father myself, I just can’t fathom that it wouldn’t dawn on me, that “Shit! I need to get my kids and get the heck out of here!” I guess also that if he weren’t there we wouldn’t have seen what was going on.

What seemed like nearly the entire second half of the movie, took place in a cellar. While the happenings there were somewhat good, I found myself getting quite bored and wondering what was happening outside. A real good performance by Tim Robbins.

Regardless of the movie, it was a great date night out. I just hope I didn’t waste one of my few movie nights of the year by not seeing Batman…

