Fire, Geeks, and the downtrodden

I discovered our fireplace problem. I don’t know if I had mentioned that the last couple of times we tried to burn some wood in it the smoke came into the living room instead of up the chimney. The best I can figure is that snow accumulated on a hardware cloth that covers the chimney top and then froze, not allowing the smoke out. Why, you may ask, is there a hardware cloth up there? It was an attempted fix for bats in the belfry. Did it work? Don’t know, haven’t been up there in quite a while. 🙂

Anywho, I tested the fireplace out tonight and bingo, the warmer(?) weather yesterday must have melted away the problem. So we had a nice roaring fire tonight. Twas very nice, considering how freakin cold this house is.
—–
Looking forward to this weekend. Nothing really planned, but I’ve been in a really good mood all week, and am ready for that to spill over into the weekend. I ordered a couple of computer related books last night and I’m hoping they arrive on Saturday. I’ll be bummed if they don’t show up. One book is about Java Game Programming. I’ve got an idea, need a little guidance, and just need to do something in Java so I don’t lose my training. The other book is Wil Wheaton’s “Just a Geek”. I’ve read his blog off and on for a while. He does get quite annoying when he gets political or whiny, but I enjoy most of his posts. I admit it, I’m just a freakin book junky. I’ve got tons of books that I’ve never read, but dangit, I needed them.
—–
I’m a little worried about one of my Pit players. We’ve upped the danger level this season to try to make things more interesting. I actually think things are tuned in pretty well. Unfortunately, all the major fighter damage has been taken by one player, in the last 3 rounds. It’s not like he’s innocent over last round’s death, though. He neglected scheduling a different fighter, and his default fighter was badly injured from the round before. I’m really hoping that real life intervened and that he’s not pouting. That would be totally unlike him.

But I haven’t heard from him for the last two rounds, so I’m a bit concerned. If you’re reading this, buddy, give me a shout.

