Podcasts

Once again, I’ve lost my original post because my cache expired before I posted. Ahhhhhh. I need to either not watch TV while I’m writing these things, or somehow remember to copy my post into my clipboard before trying to submit. Or maybe I should type these up in notepad first.

Anyway, I wanted to talk about podcasts a little bit. I stumbled upon this new tech last night. I was reading Wil Wheaton’s blog and he mentioned that he had just recently done an interview by a a podcaster. So I checked it out and their pretty cool.

Basically, somebody records an mp3 file in some manner, talk show, interviews, preaching, etc. They then use the powers of technology (RSS feeds, XML, etc) to publish their shows so they are available on the internet. People can then use an aggregator (I think that’s the term) to subscribe to these podcasts. I use iPodder (www.ipodder.org). You set your aggregator to check your subscriptions periodically and it will download it when it finds some new content.

iPodder automatically puts these downloaded podcasts into my iTunes library. I don’t know how it works if you don’t have iTunes, but I’m sure you could listen to them with some other media player since their just mp3 files. I just don’t know where it would put them. I have mine check early in the morning so any new content is available to me when I get up in the morning.

At this point, you could just listen to them on your PC. But I hook my iPod up and it syncs this new content right onto it, so I can listen to it work. Pretty sweet!

Anybody else doing this stuff? Any podcasts you’d recommend I check out?

One Response to “Podcasts”

  1. Shindo Hikaru Says:

    Check out the weekly Geek Speak from the boys at Board Game Geek!

Comments are closed.


